Discipline to Work

I missed yesterday’s post. I’ll admit it. It was supposed to be about business; in fact, I had it all planned in my mind- a look at the Starbucks model.

But things don’t always go as planned. People showed up, and I never did get my work done. Any of it.

But! Today is a new day, so here’s to a new start. You’ll have to wait for next week for the business post, though. Sorry!

Some days, though, you just don’t feel like working. When you’re your own boss, the motivation is even worse since there’s no one looking at your shoulder. This is what my day is like today. I’d much rather sit and pretend that I’m a vegetable- just one of those days.

But where motivation fails, discipline takes over. I can’t afford to take a day off so easily like that. I’m already going to be missing a few days this week, thanks to a retreat this weekend. So I need to stay on top of it and work.

That’s when I force my motivation. I work because not doing so is not an option. It’s not because I can’t afford it, although I certainly could use the money. But bills aren’t a real motivator; their screaming voices are too easily shushed by a lazy attitude. Rather, the motivation has to come from within.

Discipline is inward motivation.

Simply put, I don’t make it an option to skip work. It’s not in my mindset. The work gets done, whether I feel like it or not. And I find that with that attitude, I’m able to get a lot more done in a shorter amount of time.  It takes a lot to work from home; half of it is in that inward motivation. Without the boss giving you that outward motivation, you need discipline to motivate you from the inside.

It’s the only way it will work.

What motivates you?

Leave a Reply

